Nsempiisms – Whose list will you believe?

I have seen the list of 50 under 40 Ghanaian influencers and also followed the debate on whether the list and the outfit that put it together are both credible or not.

The debate reminds me of how we treat the list of Presidential awardees every year. Most of the time, we either focus on only a few names or tire ourselves out with arguments about the perception that most of the people on the list are friends of the ruling party and government. Which, to me, is sad.

I made time a couple of years ago to check out the names on one such natiional award list and was motivated by the stories behind the names. In our bid to bastardise, we usually miss lessons from the backroom stories.

Such lists are like the results of Miss Ghana or Miss Malaika: each person has a different view.

So this is my view: I have chosen to reflect on the names on that list. I didn’t know quite a number but for their peers to consider them worthy to be voted on means they are doing something worthwhile. I am checking their stories for some lessons and motivation.

We don’t celebrate one another enough.

Nsempiisms. My mouth has fallen.

 

Leave a Reply

