Nsempiisms: Impartial but not neutral

  
30 May 2015

When Peter Ala-Adjetey was appointed as Speaker of the 3rd Parliament under the Fourth Republic in Ghana, the then-NDC Minority in Parliament went to pay him a courtesy call. In their deliberations, they implored him to be as neutral as possible in the discharge of his duties.

He responded by reminding them that his leanings are known and that he used to be NPP Chairman.

“I cannot be neutral,” he admitted. “I can only be impartial.”

This statement by the late Speaker never left my mind and has influenced my conduct and comments on public discourse.

I have voted ever since I qualified to do so.

So I am not non-aligned. I am not neutral.

But I try as much as possible to be objective and impartial.

Thank you, Rt.Hon., for this timeless lesson.

One thought on “Nsempiisms: Impartial but not neutral

Leave a Reply

