Musing on Proud song – by Nana Yaa Larbi

20th April 2007

It has been an uneventful week; the boys are back in school and the weather continues to be my type of weather, mild and sunny. I have been doing my best to try out the 15 minutes of writing when I can and it has been good. It is funny how things crop up just when you want to make a change in an area of your life. It is indeed sometimes difficult for me to act on principle instead of feeling and during this week I have just wanted to head straight for bed on certain days; however I have resisted that urge, so that I can do the 15 minutes of writing or something teaching-related. Growth in an area of life, like in being disciplined, always comes in stages and you cannot know it all at once. In addition to the 15 minutes, I am applying the song sang by The M People a few years to my daily ditties and asking myself What have I done today to make me feel proud?

Ghana celebrated 50 years of independence from British rule on the 6th of March and there were all sorts of reactions to the celebrations and the money spent. The different opinions set me thinking more and more (especially since I am approaching that defining age of 40) about leaving a legacy and what my contribution to my world would be and that has made me think more in terms of years instead of days.

In ten years time, what would I want to have achieved? The little lady will be ten by then and I will be…

If I do want to do something significant, each day matters now but at the same time also takes away the pressure of wanting to show something for the “now”. It takes away the pressure of wanting to impress or follow the crowd since I determine what my legacy should be. It means looking beyond the things I want for today and looking more towards others and what I can do to help them.

What have I done today indeed to make me feel proud? Each minute counts and the little deeds of kindness also matter.

God bless you all and have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

