Not Built to Break – An interview of Whitney with Oprah

If you have not been through trials

You are not hesitant to give trial

If you have never been to the brink

You rush to criticise someone whilst you drink

He who has been bitten by a dog

Appreciates when another is afraid of a log

Empathy is an attribute we appreciate

Only when we get into situations we

Need someone to give us some

To reciprocate

I just finished watching an amazing interview of Whitney Houston with Oprah Winfrey in 2009.

And I have a confession to make: I wept.

As Pastor TD Jakes said when Whitney passed away, we never know. Pastor Jakes spoke about the oft unknown situation of being gifted and yet tormented. Being talented but tormented. And Whitney epitomised that.

Yet in all of these, one thing came strong for me. Her love for the Lord, and her desire to keep her marriage vows irrespective of what she was going through. She fought for her marriage. And relied on God for strength. In the end, she had to leave. As the other partner clearly didn’t have the same desire.

And still, in the end, God brought her through. Because we were not built to break. And God keeps us all. One day, when we have survived, we shall share our stories. With God’s Help.

Watch Whitney’s interview with Oprah here: Interview on YouTube

The lyrics of this song on her album I Look To You has some great words for reflection. The song is written by Diane Warren. The title of the song is I Didn’t Know My Own Strength.

Lost touch with my soul
I had nowhere to turn, I had nowhere to go
Lost sight of my dream
Thought it would be the end of me

I, I thought I’d never make it through
I had no hope to hold on to
I, I thought I would break

I didn’t know my own strength
And I crashed down and I tumbled, but I did not crumble
I got through all the pain
I didn’t know my own strength

Survived my darkest hour, my faith kept me alive
I picked myself back up, hold my head up high
I was not built to break
I didn’t know my own strength

Found hope in my heart
I found the light to life my way out of the dark
Found all that I need here inside of me

Oh, I thought I’d never find my way
I thought I’d never lift that weight
I thought I would break

I didn’t know my own strength
And I crashed down and I tumbled, but I did not crumble
I got through all the pain
I didn’t know my own strength

Survived my darkest hour, my faith kept me alive
I picked myself back up, hold my head up high
I was not built to break
I didn’t know my own strength

There were so many times
I wondered how I’d get through the night
I thought I took all that I could take

I didn’t know my own strength
And I crashed down and I tumbled, but I did not crumble
I got through all the pain
Oh, I didn’t know my own strength

My faith kept me alive
I picked myself back up, I hold my head up high
I was not built to break
I didn’t know my own strength

I was not built to break, no, no
I got to know my own strength

4 thoughts on “Not Built to Break – An interview of Whitney with Oprah

  1. Nana, thanks for this wonderful piece. I remember shedding tears when I watched this same interview a few weeks back. What touched me most was when she acknowledged God as the source of her strength. It’s so sad that she had to die so soon. May her soul rest in piece.

  2. we are christians not because we live a perfect, righteous life, but also because we know to hold on to our God and cry for help when we stumble and fall…. Whitney did that. she was a beautiful human being with a great voice.

Leave a Reply

