Letter from Dad – 26 May 06

Dear Bassanyin,

I am doing well, my dear. I have finished my exams, and now left with working on my final project. Soon, I will be done and will come home to be with you and Mum. Trust you are doing well. Been following all your progress, and very happy so far, haha. We thank God for your life each day.

Tomorrow, 27th May, you will be officially given your name. I just want to write to you and give you some background and the reasons for your name.

Mum and I are happy to honour a great man, during your naming ceremony. Someone who made such a great impact in my life – nurtured me, challenged me, and taught me so much with his actions, words, friendship and love. I am happy, together with your Mum, my darling wife Vivian, and with the blessing of my Mum and both Damoah and Richardson families, to honour my late Dad, George Nana Kwame Bassanyin Damoah, a man we called Bombay.

A little history lesson for you. My father was named after his late grand uncle, Nana Kwame Bassanyin I and II, the late Omanhene of Wasa Amenfi, and uncle to my Dad’s father (Nana Kwabena Damoah), who succeeded Nana Bassanyin on the throne and became Nana Premang Ntow II. My Dad’s cousin, the nephew of Nana Premang Ntow, who became the successor of Nana Premang Ntow II, is the current Paramount chief of Wasa Amenfi, Kasapreko Nana Kwame Bassanyin III.

My father, your Grand dad, was born on 10 June 1937, a Thursday and yet was a Kwame. I was born on a Tuesday, and yet I am Kwesi Awere (named after my grand uncle, the brother of Nana Premang Ntow). By our traditions, we don’t split the names. And, thus, the full name is given in honour. As my Dad before me did and his Dad before him did, so I emulate and do.

Your Granddad bonded with your Mum Vivian in a massive way, calling her “Darling” and saying “Lovely!” anytime they met or talked on phone, and we are excited to honour him.

So, it is with great pride that we name you, our son: Nana Kwame Bassanyin Damoah, with the following further explanations:

Nana: because you are a true son of Wasa Amenfi and named after a prince, and also because your parents are royal priest and priestess in the house of God. Our prayer is that in due time, when you are able to make that decision, with our constant guidance and example, you will accept the Lord’s Lordship and enter this royal priesthood as well.

Kwame Bassanyin: Kwame Bassanyin is the name of my Dad, who was named after your great great grand uncle. Bassanyin is, therefore, an important family name. However, I have thought deeply about it and have an understanding I would want you, my son, to understand and live by. “Bassa” means arm in our language. “Nyini” means “well grown or strong”. Putting the two together, “Bassanyin” means for us “A well grown arm or a strong arm”. We pray you, Nana Kwame, will grow up to be a strong arm; of support, of valour, of excellence – for your God, your nation and your family. And we pray that you will learn to trust in the Greatest Bassanyin of all, the Arm that we trusted in as we waited for you to come to us, the Great and Mighty Arm of God that never ceases to save, care for us and do great and mighty miracles, even the miracle which is you.

Damoah: that is our family name.

Welcome to our world, our son. Looking at you further proves God is working in our lives. I have attached two pictures of your Grandpa, after whom you were named.

I love you.

Your proud ‘online’ father,

Nana Damoah
Nottingham, UK
May 2006

Thanksgiving Scripture Text:

1Sa 1:27 I (We) prayed for this child, and the LORD granted my (our) request. [Insertions added]

2 thoughts on “Letter from Dad – 26 May 06

  1. Truly, this is a lovely piece full of wise and meaningful sayings. I thank God that in His own wisdom, He has filled your heart once again with Nana Kwame Bassanyin (your late dad)in the form of little Nana Kwame Bassanyin who will now be more closer to you than ever before. It is my earnest prayer that little Nana Kwame Bassanyin will grow to be all that you wish and hope for and even more than that.I ask that together with your loving wife Vivian, you will continue and always be wonderful parents to him.Nana, just a curious question; if little Nana had been a female child, what would have been her name? God always knows best and He surely makes all things beautiful in His time.Nana how did u come up with this idea of a web page / site? YOU R A GENIUS

  2. Truly, this is a lovely piece full of wise and meaningful sayings. I thank God that in His own wisdom, He has filled your heart once again with Nana Kwame Bassanyin (your late dad)in the form of little Nana Kwame Bassanyin who will now be more closer to you than ever before. It is my earnest prayer that little Nana Kwame Bassanyin will grow to be all that you wish and hope for and even more than that.I ask that together with your loving wife Vivian, you will continue and always be wonderful parents to him.Nana, just a curious question; if little Nana had been a female child, what would have been her name? God always knows best and He surely makes all things beautiful in His time.Nana how did u come up with this idea of a web page / site? YOU R A GENIUS

Leave a Reply

